3rd Anniversary LibroMobile Literary Arts Festival 

5X7 libromobile 2021.jpeg

LibroMobile is celebrating over 4 years of cultivating diversity through books in SanTana and 3 years of our tiny bookstore collaborating with local and diverse guest artists in presenting FREE live readings, workshops & literary arts in the alley!





Our Literary Arts Festival will unite local and visiting POC artists, feature art vendors, local food by BIPOC and all booklovers. The day will include live readings, collaborative and musical performances and culminate with the presentation of the Modesta Avlia award!

Join us January 23, 2021 for our
3rd Anniversary LibroMobile Literary Arts Festival
virtually presented in & beyond Santa Ana!

Tentative Schedule: 12-8pm

12-2pm           Tiny Bookstore Virtual Opening

2pm                Drag Queen Story Time with performer Elektra Wolfe       

3:30pm           SanTana Poets y Más

4:30pm           VAALA & Friends

5:30pm           OC Prose Writers

6pm                Modesta Avila Award & Keynote Speaker: David Lopez

6:30pm           Apollo Bebop


More to be announced!

All times are in Pacific Standard Time

LibroMobile Presents: The Modesta Avila Award 

It is a great honor to announce our Modesta Avila Award recipient and keynote speaker at our Anniversary LibroMobile Literary Arts Festival in January, every year since we opened our tiny bookstore in 2018.

We chose this award title for many reasons but mainly because Modesta Avila has been overlooked in history, not only as a Mexican-American but also as a woman. In the late 1880's Modesta stood up for her family and land against the railroad development, and for that she was labeled a protestor and felon. Yet it is only over the last couple of decades that she has gained recognition and now more of us are retelling her story.

Equally instrumental in leading our community through cultural empowerment, pride and literary advocacy are our annual awardees!

David Lopez

David Lopez is a queer Latino writer and award-winning librarian from Santa Ana, CA. He aims to elevate BIPOC and LGBTQ+ narratives through his writing and reporting. His work has appeared in the Orange County Register, OC Weekly, La Bloga, Rio Grande Review, and is a contributing writer for Instinct Magazine. David has been a Libromobile supporter since inception and has curated the Drag Queen Storytime for the Literary Arts Festival each year. As a professional librarian his mission is to bring necessary resources to underserved communities and to build connections and equity for communities of color in historically intimidating institutions. David is part of the executive board of REFORMA, the National Association to Promote Library & Information Services to Latinos and the Spanish Speaking as well as a former councilor for the American Library Association.

2021 Awardee

Iuri M. Lara

Iuri M. Lara is a MeXicana-Indigena poet, a High School English Language Arts teacher, and a mother from Santa Ana, CA. She holds an M.F.A. in Poetry from the University of California in Riverside. Her poetry has appeared in The American Poetry Review, The Academic Journal for MALCS, Mujeres de Maize Zine, Bozalta Literary and Arts Zine, Open Doors Poetry Anthology, Recycled Languages Cartonera Zine, Seeds of Resistance Zine and La Bloga’s Poets Responding to SB1070. Her first poetry chapbook titled “Trece Poemas” was self-published in 2012, “Xicanx Affirmations” is her second poetry chapbook (2018) published by Libromobile. website: www.iurimlara.com

2020 Awardee

Emmy Pérez

Emmy Pérez, Texas Poet Laureate 2020, was raised in Santa Ana and has lived in the Texas borderlands for the past twenty years. She is the author of With the River on Our Faceand Solstice. A collection of her new and selected works is forthcoming by TCU Press. She has received fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Academy of American Poets. Over the years, she has led writing workshops in detention centers and community spaces. In 2017, she co-founded Poets Against Walls collective in the Rio Grande Valley.

She is Professor of Creative Writing at the University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, where she teaches in the MFA and undergraduate programs. She also serves as Associate Director of the Center for Mexican American Studies.

2019 Awardee